when you stare at the abyss, the abyss stares back at you

social.therapy.mirror.search.random.space.

iTunes refusing to recognize iPhone 3GS and forcing a restore? Read on…

…and I hope this works since my weekend troubles with my iPhone 3GS is starting to become too much of a routine.

I start the weekend syncing and backing-up my iPhone 3GS with iTunes. It does 1 good back-up and refuses to recognize the iPhone 3GS later. It will verify and ask me to restore from the back-up (lucky I get one back-up done for that morning). I will do all sorts of layman-technical acrobatics for about 2 hours before giving up and restoring the iPhone 3GS from the “now” 2 hour old back-up.

I will continue to spend an hour syncing my apps, making sure my contacts (sync with Google contacts) are merged before I step out to welcome and enjoy my weekend.

If you are wondering, this sucks big-time! It makes me want to call someone from either the Windows 7 team at Microsoft or an Apple technician and yell at them so much and follow up by swearing off both companies. 5 minutes later, I calm down and recall that I need the content saved in my iPhone 3gs and instead I do technical acrobatics.

Mark my words though, I am looking at Android and once a form factor emerges that I like, I will switch. My weekend routine makes me strangely supportive and protective of Google. What an irony but so true. At least they are goofing up less and by ensuring that Google apps, contacts, calendar and Gmail works, they have gained a supporter in me.

Anyhow, in case anyone else is suffering from the same problem, the solution that worked for me is published here.

The idea is not to take or sync any photos that wasn’t taken with the iPhone 3GS camera and save it in the photo album in the iPhone 3GS. BTW, the only means to delete these photos is to restore your iPhone 3GS from a previous version, go to your phone interface and sync photos from a designated folder but be sure to remove any non-iPhone 3GS taken photo from that folder first.

Why would this not be possible? I have no idea. Why can’t I save all these wonderful and beautiful photos taken with all my other better camera devices such as my Panasonic Fx and my Sony A330 is beyond me, but (enough banging of head against wall) I recognize the verification problem will not be resolved as long as I harbor hope that I can share awesome content with my community and still hope to use an iPhone 3GS.

Also, if you are syncing your contacts with Google contacts, remember to access your contacts through Gmail and merge the duplicates. Otherwise, you will have multiple copies of the same contact list.

In case, you are still wondering, I lay all the blame on Apple and the iPhone 3GS. Yes I can choose whether or not to use them and while I was foolish enough to cave in to the hype and go on a 2 year contract with my telco, I will continue to use them. Refer to several paragraphs above though and you understand which OS my future smartphone will use.

I should also add another category for this post titled “Wasting time”.

4 Comments»

  Liv wrote @

Android for the win!

You should consider getting the Samsung Galaxy if you want a full touch screen phone or Motorola Milestone, if like me, you want a hybrid🙂

  inspirethereal wrote @

How’s the Moto going for you?

[…] …and I hope this works since my weekend troubles with my iPhone 3GS is starting to become too much of a routine. I start the weekend syncing and backing-up my iPhone 3GS with iTunes. It does 1 good back-up and refuses to recognize the iPhone 3GS later. It will verify and ask me to restore from the back-up (lucky I get one back-up done for that morning). I will do all sorts of layman-technical acrobatics for about 2 hours before giving up and re … Read More […]

  Maddison wrote @

A fascinating discussion is worth comment. I
believe that you need to write more about this issue, it might not be a taboo matter but typically folks don’t discuss these subjects. To the next! All the best!!


Leave a Reply

